For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #566303
View in linear mode

Subject: "Lost Password of some kind" Previous topic | Next topic
wings515Mon Jan-06-20 10:55 PM
Member since Nov 24th 2004
551 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"Lost Password of some kind"


          

Happy New Year,
It's been a while since I had a question for this educated group but here goes.
A friend had TeamViewer 9 installed and wanted to upgrade. When the latest version completed the download, a prompt wanted a password entered. The user name was admin already filled in. He tried many known passwords without success.
I got involved and tried to uninstall another app and got the same password request. It appears to me this is some 'other' password not his login or MS, something local.
Does anyone know how to remove this requirement or how to change the password?

This is a WIN 10 OS that was upgraded from a 7 machine by someone else.

Regards,
Dan Kahn

Dan K

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
RE: Lost Password of some kind
Jan 07th 2020
1
RE: Lost Password of some kind
Jan 07th 2020
2
RE: Lost Password of some kind
Jan 07th 2020
3
      RE: Lost Password of some kind
Jan 07th 2020
4
           RE: Lost Password of some kind
Jan 08th 2020
5
                RE: Lost Password of some kind
Jan 12th 2020
6

KJTTue Jan-07-20 03:20 AM
Charter member
15799 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: Lost Password of some kind"
In response to wings515 (Reply # 0)
Tue Jan-07-20 03:21 AM by KJT

  

          

A Google search returned this:

"Teamviewer require(s) administrator password when updating to TW 13

I later found out that it required the local admin account, the Computer user I was logged into was not admin and (that) then required (an)admin user. Which (when I) did this, work(ed) perfectly."

Jim.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

TtechTue Jan-07-20 01:21 PM
Member since Aug 06th 2002
10301 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: Lost Password of some kind"
In response to wings515 (Reply # 0)


  

          

Try leaving the password blank.

Behind every good computer... is a jumble of wires 'n stuff.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
wings515Tue Jan-07-20 04:00 PM
Member since Nov 24th 2004
551 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: Lost Password of some kind"
In response to Ttech (Reply # 2)


          

Thanks for the replies.

I tried the Blank password. I also tried 'password' as the password. Neither worked.

One other fact, when I asked the owner to open the command prompt and run as administrator, again the query for password with an admin user name came up.
I am wondering if the User Account Control is the root cause. I also found the Account Protection under the Update and Security tab had only the Microsoft account and no Local account.

I also had the user look at the version of MS WIN 10 and he is at Version 1909 and up to date.

Very strange.
Regards,
Dan Kahn

Dan K

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
wings515Tue Jan-07-20 04:06 PM
Member since Nov 24th 2004
551 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: Lost Password of some kind"
In response to wings515 (Reply # 3)


          

Just remembered, the owner also stated sometimes a Black box appears in the lower right corner stating something to the effect 'Your Microsoft Password has a problem'. Since he does not know the password from the original problem, he is reluctant to click and go further. I tend to agree since I don't know what rabbit hole this could lead to.

Dan Kahn

Dan K

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

            
wings515Wed Jan-08-20 06:31 PM
Member since Nov 24th 2004
551 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: Lost Password of some kind"
In response to wings515 (Reply # 4)


          

Just got off the phone with the owner of the PC. I tried to add a user with Admin privilege's and come to find out he is not logged in as Administrator. His son-in-law is the administrator. The last time he spoke to him, he could not remember the password he set for this machine.
I gave the owner two options, have his son-in-law remember the password, or I'd reload WIN 10 with my iso USB and go through the updates since the time I downloaded the iso.
In any case his son-in-law can not fix his PC because this PC has an older version of Team Viewer and the newer version is not compatible with the old. So he is between a rock and the hard place.
Unless he brings his PC to his son-in-law, nothing can be updated.

My suggestion was for me to re-load WIN 10 and make him the Admin so at least he can do updates. I'll see what happens after he has a conversation with his son-in-law.

Regards,
wings515

Dan K

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
wings515Sun Jan-12-20 09:53 PM
Member since Nov 24th 2004
551 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: Lost Password of some kind"
In response to wings515 (Reply # 5)


          

S-in-law loaded Chrome remote pc so he could take over. The original problem of program removal was not addressed.
I got out of this since it appears S-I-L wants control.

Regards,
wings515

Dan K

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #566303 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.