For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #566642
View in linear mode

Subject: "new computer problem" Previous topic | Next topic
lenjackFri Sep-04-20 02:52 AM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1500 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"new computer problem"


          

Dell xps 8930. I've been through the bios and the boot menu, and maybe I'm missing something, but there appears to be no option for booting from cd or dvd. any ideas?

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
RE: new computer problem
Sep 04th 2020
1
RE: new computer problem
Sep 04th 2020
2
      RE: new computer problem
Sep 04th 2020
3
           RE: new computer problem
Sep 04th 2020
4
                RE: new computer problem
Sep 05th 2020
5
                RE: new computer problem
Sep 05th 2020
6
                     RE: new computer problem
Sep 05th 2020
7
                          RE: new computer problem
Sep 05th 2020
8
                               RE: new computer problem
Sep 05th 2020
9
                                    RE: new computer problem
Sep 07th 2020
10

TtechFri Sep-04-20 12:22 PM
Member since Aug 06th 2002
10333 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 0)


  

          

From power off, press the power button and start tapping the F12 key. You should eventually get the boot menu. This is the same for all Dell computers.

Behind every good computer... is a jumble of wires 'n stuff.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
lenjackFri Sep-04-20 01:02 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1500 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to Ttech (Reply # 1)


          

Thanks, but no. Yes, I can easily get in to the boot menu with F12, but is does not have the option to boot from cd/dvd. I've worked with about a dozen computers in 24 years, and this is the first one I've seen, where the boot menu, will not allow that.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
therubeFri Sep-04-20 04:44 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16554 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 2)


  

          

Would F12 display that option if CD is set to disabled in BIOS, Boot, section (F2)?

Check there, F2 at restart, Boot tab & see that CD is set to (not) disabled.

Note, F12 is for (manually) selecting, F2 is for setting.


Otherwise, https://www.google.com/search?rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aunofficial&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&oq=&aqs=&q=dell+8930+boot+order+sequence.


PS: Computer have a CD/DVD

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

            
lenjackFri Sep-04-20 11:44 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1500 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to therube (Reply # 3)


          

CD/DVD supplied by Dell as part of this new computer. Already tried what you mentioned. NOWHERE, in the bios, or boot menu, is the cd drive listed. When the computer boots into W10, it is obviously aware it is there, since the drive functions normally in cd and dvd modes.If I can't get it to boot from cd, I will be returning it. I'm appreciative of your efforts.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
lenjackSat Sep-05-20 03:00 AM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1500 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 4)


          

Just got off the phone with Dell support...40 minutes. Took half of that to get him to understand what I wanted to do. He couldn't do it. We jumped around the bios, until he finally conceded that the cd was not there. He finally said the hardware was working properly as warranteed, and it was a software issue which was not covered, and I could be routed to another department for PAID support. I thanked him for wasting his and my time.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
TtechSat Sep-05-20 03:29 PM
Member since Aug 06th 2002
10333 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 4)


  

          

Have you checked to make sure you have the latest BIOS?

Is there a bootable disk inserted in the optical drive when you go to the boot menu? It may not offer the optical drive as a bootable device if there is no bootable disk in it.

Behind every good computer... is a jumble of wires 'n stuff.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                    
lenjackSat Sep-05-20 03:57 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1500 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#7. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to Ttech (Reply # 6)
Sat Sep-05-20 04:14 PM by lenjack

          

Checked and updated to latest bios. No boot disk in drive.

Perhaps I should explain why I want to be able to do this. Weekly, I back up my system to an external hard drive. I use Aomei Backupper, which uses a rescue cd, to access the external hard drive, when needed. I have needed to do this several times in the past few years on my previous computers, and I want to be able to do this on this new Dell system, but I'm unable to do so, if I'm unable to boot from cd.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                        
TtechSat Sep-05-20 09:57 PM
Member since Aug 06th 2002
10333 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#8. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 7)


  

          

Quote:
Checked and updated to latest bios. No boot disk in drive.


Can you try it with the Aomei boot disk in the drive before you press F12??? Also I just looked at the website for this product and it states that you can make a bootable USB flash drive. Would that be an option for you?

Another thing to check is to make sure you have Secureboot turned off in BIOS before you try to boot from an optical disk or flash drive.

Behind every good computer... is a jumble of wires 'n stuff.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                            
lenjackSat Sep-05-20 10:25 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1500 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#9. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to Ttech (Reply # 8)


          

WOW! That worked. You'd think Dell would make that obvious. Now...that leads to the next problem. My Aomei Backupper screen comes up, but the mouse cursor is frozen. My mouse, actually, trackball, will not work. There is no mouse input. There may or may not be keyboard input. Nerve wracking, as I'm so close. I'm planning to restore my important junk, I mean "stuff", from my prior system on this new setup.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                                
therubeMon Sep-07-20 04:29 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16554 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#10. "RE: new computer problem"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 9)
Mon Sep-07-20 04:30 PM by therube

  

          

So it was Secureboot or needing a bootable disk in the drive, first, that was the issue?


How is the mouse connected?
If USB, might try PS2.

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #566642 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.