For every question, there's an answer -- and you'll find it here!


Printer-friendly copy
Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #566699
View in linear mode

Subject: "New build issue" Previous topic | Next topic
lenjackWed Oct-28-20 12:50 AM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1505 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"New build issue"
Wed Oct-28-20 12:59 AM by lenjack

          

New comp is W10 home, 64 bit, 500G ssd, new mobo and memory. Old comp was W10 Pro, 32 bit, 240G ssd. I have the old drive installed in the new comp, with the thought I could boot from it, on an as need basis to copy some files, such as email addys, other documents, and the like. however, when I attempt to boot from it, it will occasional get to the desktop, but when I try to do anything with it, it will blue screen. Most times, it wont get to the desktop. It will simply blue screen.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm wondering if this is because one of the systems is 32 bits and the other 64.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic
Subject Author Message Date ID
RE: New build issue
Oct 28th 2020
1
RE: New build issue
Oct 28th 2020
2
      RE: New build issue
Oct 28th 2020
3
      RE: New build issue
Oct 28th 2020
4
           RE: New build issue
Oct 28th 2020
5
           RE: New build issue
Oct 28th 2020
6
      RE: New build issue
Oct 29th 2020
7
           RE: New build issue
Oct 29th 2020
8

therubeWed Oct-28-20 05:53 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16559 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: New build issue"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 0)


  

          

I would expect (attempting to) boot a foreign drive put into a different, diverse system to be a hit or miss experience.

(Actually, in most cases, I'd expect Windows to automatically find, install, & "fix" incompatible drivers & such - at least to the point where it would boot, successfully. But maybe the architectures are just too diverse here?)


Anyhow, is there a particular need to boot from the old drive.
The drive is there, a slave, drive D: or E: or whatever, can't you simply copy from D: to C:...

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
lenjackWed Oct-28-20 06:49 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1505 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: New build issue"
In response to therube (Reply # 1)


          

Thanks. I'd like to. The old drive does show up as D, in "This PC", and I can open it, but I can't figure out how to find what I want.

For example: I use Thunderbird email, which I've installed in the new build. Tbird found my account, and configured it perfectly, BUT, the address book is blank, and I really need that. I found Thunderbird in the old drive, in Program files, but there are 81 entries, and not one to open it. Probably, one of these files, is the address book file. If I could find and open the address book file, I can open and copy it.

As far as not being able to boot from the old drive, before I did any of this, I used a third drive, an external backup drive, and did a universal restore, to the old drive, after it was installed in the new build, figuring this would obviate problems.


I'll deliver a 6-pak to the person who tells me how to either boot from the old drive and/or open the address book in the old drive.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
KJTWed Oct-28-20 10:06 PM
Charter member
15832 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: New build issue"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 2)
Wed Oct-28-20 10:08 PM by KJT

  

          

Maybe try physically disconnecting the new drive and then try booting the old one. If you're fortunate enough to make it to the desktop, maybe it won't blue screen.

Jim

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

            
lenjackWed Oct-28-20 10:50 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1505 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#4. "RE: New build issue"
In response to KJT (Reply # 3)


          

Wow...I tried this a few times. Here's the problem. It's an M.2, and it's located under the corner of my hi-tech heatsink. I can do it, but it's a hell of a job, and the last time I tried, which was 2 days ago, it was blue screening. I almost need a double angled screwdriver to get at that tiny screw, which I'm afraid I'm going to lose, in the guts of the computer. I attached a magnet to the screwdriver, but it blocks my view.

Maybe someone knows the name of the address file in Tbird, since I can open the drive, and find the 81 Tbird files.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
lenjackWed Oct-28-20 11:04 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1505 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#5. "RE: New build issue"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 4)


          

Also, does the boot problem have anything to do with the fact that the new build drive is GPT, while the old drive is MBR?

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

                
KJTWed Oct-28-20 11:10 PM
Charter member
15832 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#6. "RE: New build issue"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 4)


  

          

I know nothing about Firebird, but a Google search turned up this at https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1198805

Quote:
It will be in this location: The backup may have a different profile name folder using different letters and numbers, but all should be the same on both bvackup and new computer. C:\Users\<Windows user name>\AppData\Roaming\Thunderbird\Profiles\<Profile name>\

'profile name' folder is usually named 'xxxxxxxx.default' folder, where the x's are letters and numbers.

Image below shows location of .mab files. abook.mab is the default created 'Personal Address Book' history.mab is default created 'Collected Addresses' other *.mab files are ones you created.


You may need to make hidden files and folders visible. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Show_hidden_files_and_folders


Jim.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
therubeThu Oct-29-20 03:32 PM
Member since Jan 22nd 2003
16559 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#7. "RE: New build issue"
In response to lenjack (Reply # 2)


  

          

See if there's anything in these parts:

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Migrate_from_Mozilla_Suite_or_Netscape_to_Thunderbird
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_data_to_a_new_profile_-_Thunderbird
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Thunderbird_:_FAQs_:_Migration

--------------------------------------
BANK OF AMERICA.COM ONLINE BANKING SUCKS IN THE HUGEST WAY IMAGINABLE

Newegg.com's new image gallery layout sucks in the hugest way imaginable too !
And now they're using JavaScript to "turn" pages to boot ! SUCKS

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

            
lenjackThu Oct-29-20 05:57 PM
Member since Nov 13th 2001
1505 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#8. "RE: New build issue"
In response to therube (Reply # 7)


          

Everything except the address book does import. Thanks.

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Top The PC Q&A Forum The Computer Forum topic #566699 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com
Home
Links
About PCQandA
Link To Us
Support PCQandA
Privacy Policy
In Memoriam
Acceptable Use Policy

Have a question or problem regarding this forum? Check here for the answer.